DSE_Strowyrm

Better Late Than Never`

In Uncategorized on May 28, 2013 at 2:45 am

I started this little corner of the internet over a year ago with the goal of getting back into writing and maybe, hopefully, who the hell knows, get up to speed with some money coming in from my creative endeavor.

Life as they say happens.  First and foremost it was the birth of my third child, Ian Rohan Ross.  He was 4 days old when we had to spend a week in the hospital due to RSV.   To sit there and listen to your infant child struggling to breath is pure hell.

Sitting in the hospital with nothing else to do I naturally fell back to fantasy sports and being February it was baseball.  My life long passion ever since I first heard Nolan Ryan pitching against Steve Carlton on the radio back in 1981 as I tried to avoid the reality of my dad dying from lung cancer.

Back then it was sneaking a radio to bed and listening to the Astros.  Listening and visualizing the game became my escape.  As I sat in the hospital trying not to listen as my new born son struggled to breath it was analyzing prospects and trades and looking for players I thought who would preform way above their average draft position – otherwise known as SLEEPERS.  Over the course of that week I found two players I thought fit the bill for my team – Josh Reddick a young player freshly traded to Oakland from Boston – and Yadier Molina a very established player who would be looked upon to step up as a leader as Pujols the previous team leader left to sign with Anaheim.

I was able to snag both – Molina in the 23rd round and Reddick in the 25th.  The silver lining to the week from hell.

In a nutshell that is my life.  Father, husband and baseball nut of the Astro flavor.  Any and all is fair game though I hope to focus mainly on the baseball aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

